Jaipur. Union Minister of State (IC) for Tourism Shri K.J.Alphons has awarded Rajasthan with three National Tourism Awards for year 2016-17 including third prize jointly with Goa under the category of “Best State- Comprehensive Development of Tourism” at National Tourism Awards 2016-17 held on Thursday at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. The award was received by Shri Kuldeep Ranka, Principal Secretary Tourism, Shri Pradeep Kumar Borar, Director Tourism, and Smt. Punita Singh Joint Director Tourism Government of Rajasthan.

Rajasthan state was also conferred another prestigious National Tourism Award under “Most Innovative use of Information Technology (Social Media/Mobile App/Website) “for its Website, and “Best Film Promotion Friendly State”.
“National Tourism Award in different categories is a recognition of our on-going efforts under the dynamic leadership of Chief Minister Smt. Vasundhara Raje to make Rajasthan one of the most favoured destinations of choice for tourists around the world and these awards are also a testimony to Rajasthan’s tourism friendly policy initiatives,” said Shri Kuldeep Ranka, Principal Secretary Tourism, Government of Rajasthan.

-Non-Government organizations of Rajasthan also gets Award
In the function MOS,Tourism Shri Alphons also honoured three non-government organizations of Rajasthan for their outstanding performance in the field of Tourism. The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur bags the award for ‘Best Hotel in the Five Star Deluxe’ Category. The Samode Haveli, Jaipurwas awarded the ‘Best Heritage Hotel (Basic Category)’. Mr. Ashish Kumar Roy, Executive Chef at The Rambagh Palace, Jaipur was also honoured with the award for the “Best Chef of India Four to Five Star Deluxe and Heritage (Classic & Grand) Category.

Mrs. Rashmi Verma, Secretary Tourism, Government of India welcomed the awardees and Shri Suman Billa, Joint Secretary, Tourism, GoI gave the Vote of Thanks. Dignitaries from various travel and tour organizations and State Government officials were present in the function.
-About National Tourism Awards
Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, annually presents National Tourism Awards to various segments of the travel, tourism and hospitality industry. These awards are being given since the early 1990s and are presented to State Governments / Union Territories, classified hotels, heritage hotels, approved travel agents, tour operators and tourist transport operators, individuals and other private organizations in recognition of their performance in their respective fields and also to encourage healthy competition with an aim to promote tourism. The National Tourism Awards have over the years emerged as a prestigious recognition of achievements in the travel, tourism and hospitality sectors.